Sign in to follow this  
dalorubo

smoke ring button

Hello -- this is my first time posting --

I think some of you may be able to give me information on an old button that reads, "Meet Me At The The Smoke Ring".

The double 'The' gets people ever time!

Any info on this button, including value, would be appreciated! Thanks!!

Welcome to PTU dalorubo!

You might want to look at this photo, which was just posted yesterday, which shows one of the giant smoke rings being formed and lifting away from the machine that made it, just to the right of the building.

19_Japan_Pavilion_from_Swiss_Sky_Ride.jpg

The explanation:

General Cigar Corporation sponsored a pavilion called the "Hall of Magic" which put on magic shows.

At one side of the building, they installed a large machine (outdoors) which could produce gigantic smoke rings which would rise high into the sky, and were visible all over the World's Fair park.

They advertised it as being so visible that if anybody were to get lost or agree to split up and see different things in the park, they could always agree to "meet at the smoke ring" because it could be a common point of reference.

The idea would be- spot a smoke ring rising into the sky, and walk toward the spot it came from, which would be the smoke ring machine.

It became a sort of advertising slogan for the General Cigar Pavilion, and they produced these buttons.

I don't know whether the smoke rings were frequent enough or visually traceable enough to actually make the 'meeting spot' idea practical.

I remember when I went to the Fair one day as an 8-year old kid, I'd heard about the big smoke ring machine, and was disappointed that I didn't see a ring all day, even when we walked right past it.

Button value as a collectible: $3-5. They're fairly common.

So far I'm not aware of anybody discovering a button with a single "the"- it's indeed one of the more humorous errors that was allowed to be proliferated without correction.