3D reconstruction of the Belgian Pavilion - Where to find detailed information?

15 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

Hi!

I'm a student at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in Germany, and I will be doing a 3D reconstruction of Henry van de Velde's Belgian Pavilion for a class project.

post-5219-0-27717500-1321443868_thumb.jpg

I already have some information, such as pictures of the outside of the buildings, some medium-quality plans, etc. so I can start modelling the building. However, I would like to ask if any of you has or knows how to find more detailed information (such as better quality plans, or interior pictures). I would also be interested in detailed plans of the Fair, as I would like to do a mass-modelling of the surrounding buildings.

This is what I have done so far: (I'm not sure if the image will show in full size... am I doing something wrong when uploading the picture?)

post-5219-0-46567300-1321443836_thumb.jpg

As an example of previous work I have done, here is a video of Gaudí's first project for the Casa Milà in Barcelona (please consider that this was a few years ago and I didn't have much time to work on it)

polforeman's Channel - YouTube

So, any help would be greatly appreaciated. Even though I have enough information and can proceed to modelling the outside (which I will show you if you're interested) I would like to make the model as exact as possible.

Thank you very much!

Pol Foreman

post-5219-0-46567300-1321443836_thumb.jp

post-5219-0-27717500-1321443868_thumb.jp

Posted · Report post

I have many exterior photos of this pavilion in the form of postcards, but I'll send by pm to you the email address of a person in France who has a much better collection than I, including many specialty views of the Belgian Pavilion (and all pavilions).

In the last week or two I came across a web site that had many views of this pavilion under construction, including interiors... but unfortunately I didn't save the url.