Sign in to follow this  
r0tgmqt

The Fair Led Me To Today

Hello to all --

My name is Tom, and I was amazed to finally find a site like this. The Fair still lives, it seems! I went to the Fair when I was 10 and 11. The thing that still gets me is the view of the Fair, especially of the Unisphere through the hazy morning air, as we drove in from Connecticut. My heart would beat faster as I caught sight of that incredible far-off globe. I have to tell you that over the years and distance (I live in Ohio now) I have had dreams that I have returned. I have actually been awakened by the excited beating of my heart as I saw the Unisphere in my dream.

That's the kind of effect it had on me, anyway. Going to the IBM pavilion led me into computers. GMs Futurama caused me to become an optomistic futurist, despite how things are in the real world. There is always hope -- so goes the lesson of the New York World's Fair. I can still smell waffles with strawberries ...

Anyway, I'm new to the forum and I wanted to say hello. I'm sure I'll have questions for many of you who have been here a while.

Tom,

Welcome to the site. When I read you description of the feeling you had when you would catch that first glimpse of the Unisphere, it brought tears to my eyes. That's the very same feeling I would get whenever we arrived at the fair. I know that most of the people on this site, share this memory, so you have definitely found the right place!

Welcome, Tom.

Denise

Hi, Tom! I still get a twinge of nostalgia every time I get back to NY and see the Unisphere, so I can relate to your thoughts. Welcome to PTU! Fire away with the questions, and what the team can't answer we'll just make up <g>.

welcome to PTU!! so glad to have another fan here

(you'll get to know that i am one of the younger ones here.. but proud to be 18 and in love with the fair hehe)

Hi Tom, loved your post. There are very special people here at the Peace