Diggins

Abraham Lincoln Bronze Plaque

Hello, I am new to to the Community (Today is first day). I have had a bronze plaque all my life and it's from the 64/65 World's Fair. I have attached the front and back pics. It was made by Medallic Art Co. It's got a Lincoln quote and then a message. Other than that, I have no clue where I got it, what it was for and or what, and if any value it could have. Does anyone know anything about this item? I appreciate you help!!!

P.S. Actually I can't load both pics to this post, so I'll load the back of the bronze plaque to the next post.post-5562-0-56588000-1347649277_thumb.jp

Likely a souvenir sold at the Illinois pavilion. How big is it? It is a replica of a plaque that became the basis for the Lincoln penny:

(about 2/3 down the page)

http://www.alincolnbookshop.com/html/prints_paintings_sculpture.htm

Looking forward to seeing the back side.

The gift shop at the Illinois Pavilion did sell a lot of different Lincoln souvenirs. And Medallic Art is known to have supplied numerous pavilions with medallions and similar items in '64-65.

That said, the most commonly known Lincoln Medallion from the '64-65 Illinois Pavilion was not from Medallic Art, but from Stafford Mfg. of Brooklyn.

Hey Jerry. Love the 'Cuda, but I want the '63 split window 'Vette.

IS that the "VDB" that's on some pennies, on the bottom of that plaque? He designed that enduring penny. From Wikipedia: His Lithuanian name at birth was Viktoras Barnauskas, but he changed the name to Victor David Brenner, because this made it easier to obtain American citizenship.

WGN is the big station in Chicago.

For whatever this info is worth.... I found out that original castings of this bas-relief plaque which are dated 1909, sell at auction for about $3,000.

hmmmm..... although the picture links are broken, it looks like 7 years ago something was offered on eBay... not sure exactly what..some kind of WGN medal