Sign in to follow this  
Macdesigner

World Expo quotes

Hello, Im new here :)

I'm studying world expositions and how they reflect on society. I'm looking for any quotes that are 100% true and can be sourced i.e to make sure they were actually quoted. I've looked ( and looking ) on google, but I though that what better place to ask than a dedicated Expo forum !

Basically the aspect of the Expositions that interests me is how each show reflected the economic/cultural state of the Society...

Thank You

Just a day before President McKinley was shot at the 1901 Buffalo Pan-American Exposition, he spoke the following quote:

"Expositions are the timekeepers of progress. They record the world's advancement. They stimulate the energy, enterprise, and intellect of the people; and quicken human genius. They go into the home. They broaden and brighten the daily life of the people. They open mighty storehouses of information to the student. Every exposition, great or small, has helped to some onward step....These buildings will disappear; this creation of art and beauty and industry will perish from sight, but their influence will remain to 'Make it live beyond its short living, with praises and thanksgiving.'"

This summarized what many people of the era thought of World's Fairs. The Gay '90's and first decade of the 20th century were the golden eras of International Expositions, and this was felt especially in the United States, where World's Fairs helped in part turn the US into a major world power.

Just a day before President McKinley was shot at the 1901 Buffalo Pan-American Exposition, he spoke the following quote: